Chinese | Home | 
About Us    
Brief Introduction    
Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Secretary    
Vice Presidents    
Leading Party Members' Group, Secretariat    
Organizational Structure    
Functional Departments    
Chinese Chemical Society

Add: 2 Zhonguancun Beiyijie, Haidian District, Chinese Chemical Society, c/o the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
Postcode: 100080
Tel: +86-10-62568157,62625584,62564020,62625583
Fax: +86-10-62568157
Acta Chimica Sinica
Chinese J. Chemistry
Chinese Chemical Letters
Chemistry Bulletin
Acta Physico-Chimica Sinica
Journal of Inorganic Chemistry
Organic Chemistry
Analytical Chemistry
Journal of Applied Chemistry
Journal of Chromatography
Organic Chemistry
Acta Polymerica Sinica
Chinese J. Polym. Sci.
Polymer Bulletin
Journal of Catalysis
Chinese J. Molecular Science
Journal of Fuel Chemistry and Technology
Journal of Structural Chemistry
University Chemistry
Journal of Chemical Education

General Information
The Chinese Chemical Society (CCS) is a registered non-governmental body formed by Chinese chemists.

The CCS was founded in Nanjing (Nanking) on August 4, 1932. Since then sixteen Boards of Directors had been elected by 1949 with more than 3000 individual members and 150 group members.

After 1949,  the presidency of the CCS went to Zeng Zhaolun, Hou Debang, Yang Shixian, LU Jiaxi,Tang Aoqing, Qian Renyuan, Yan Dongsheng, Tang Youqi, TianZhaowu, Huang Weihuan, Xu Guangxian, Hu Yadong, Liang Xiaotian, Wang Kui, Zhu Daoben, Chen Yi, Xi Fu, Song Xinqi,Huang Benli, and Bai Chunli in succession.

In 1959, the CCS merged with the Chinese Chemical Engineering Society to become the Chinese Chemical and Chemical Engineering Society, but was split up again into two separate organizations, the Chinese Chemical Society and the Chinese Chemical Engineering Society in 1963.

The leading body of the CCS is the Board of Directors, elected by the General Conference, for a term of 4 years. From 1982 to 2002, the Board of Directors had four presidents within one term, each acting as president for one year in rotation. The current Board of Directors is the 26th, with one president, five vice-presidents and 161 directors, lasting from January 2002 to December 2006. The 27th Board of directors will be elected in 2007.

At present, there are more than 55000 registered individual members, some foreign members and 58 group members. Under the CCS there are 7 Academic Committees, 15 Specialized Committees and 7 working Committees. 

The CCS resumed its membership in the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) in 1980 after a period of some 50 years of disconnection. Huang Weihuan and Zhang Cunhao once acted as IUPAC Bureau Members and Bai Chunli currently acts as a standing committee member of IUPAC. In 1984, the CCS joined in the Federation of Asian Chemical Societies (FACS). Professor Xu Guangxian once worked as its President and the Secretariat was once seated in China. The CCS also joined in six international organizations including Pacific Polymer Federation (PPF), International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE), International Association of Catalysis Societies(IACS, and  International Confederation for Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry( ICTAC).  The CCS has established a close relationship with some chemical organizations in the countries from Europe, America, and Asia. Since 1983, the CCS has set up 11 kinds of awards, including Young Chemists Award, Professor Wang Baoren's Award for accomplishments in the field of polymer science, Professor Liang Shuquan's Award for accomplishment in basic research in analytical chemistry, Chuangxin Award for Polymer Science etc.

The CCS takes an active part in the recommendation of candidates for CAS and CAE academicians, as well as in the recommendation of the young innovational research panel for the national awards.