Chinese | Home | 
About Us    
Brief Introduction    
Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Secretary    
Vice Presidents    
Leading Party Members' Group, Secretariat    
Organizational Structure    
Functional Departments    
The Chinese Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics

Add: 15 Beisihuan Xilu, Haidian District, Beijing, China
Postcode: 100080
Tel: +86-10-62559588,62559209
Fax: +86-10-62559588
Acta Mechanica Sinica
Acta Mechanica Solida Sinica
Mechanics in Practice
Advances in Mechanics
Experimental Mechanics
Plasma Science & Technology
Engineering Mechanics
Journal of Computational Mechannics

General Information
The Chinese Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (CSTAM) was founded in February 1957. The founding members included such eminent Chinese scientists as Qian Xuesen (H-S. Tsien), Zhou Peiyuan, Qian Weichang (W-Z. Chien) and Guo Yonghuai (Y-H. Kuo). At present the CSTAM has more than 20,000 members throughout the country. The present seventh council of the CSTAM consists of 151 members, with Cui Erjie as the President. CSTAM was awarded Outstanding Society by the China Association for Science and Technology successively in 2001, 2003, and 2005 and was awarded the title of Outstanding Non-governmental Organization by the Ministry of Civil Administration.

Under CSTAM, there are altogether 23 committees or expertise groups in various specialized fields, such as solid mechanics, fluid mechanics and general mechanics, together with 6 special committees with respect to popular sciences, education, terminology examination and young scientists, etc.

Sixteen journals are published as core journals in China, with 8 indexed by EI, 3 by SCI disc or net publication and Acta Mechanica Sinica by SCI (CDE).

Varied symposia or seminars are held annually with more than 400 lectures covering a variety of disciplines in various specialized fields. Competition for young scientists in mechanics and competition concerning mechanics knowledge among high school students are among the activities organized by the Society for science popularization. 

The Society became a member of the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (IUTAM) in 1983 and are members of IACM, AFMC and ICF.

The Youth Mechanics Prize is established and awarded biennially. Furthermore, entrusted by Zhou Peiyuan Foundation, CSTAM appraises and awards Zhou Peiyuan Mechanics Prize biennially to excellent scientists in mechanics.