The WYSS inaugurates Technical Program Committee


The World Young Scientist Summit (WYSS) inaugurated its Technical Program Committee in Wenzhou, East China’s Zhejiang Province on May 7, 2024.

The inaugural ceremony of the Technical Program Committee of the WYSS

As a high-end decision-making organ of the WYSS, the Technical Program Committee aims to get the participating young scientists deeply engaged in running the WYSS program, to ensure its academic standard and going global strategies.

The number of the committee members is limited to 60, consisting of prestigious young scientists, entrepreneurs, and science  program organizers from both domestic and overseas institutions.

A mutually cooperative operating mechanism is established between the Technical Program and the Executive Committees of the WYSS.

The first batch of Technical Program Committee consists of 1 president, 4 vice presidents, 16 standing committee members, and 1 secretary-general.

Lu Chaoyang, Chair Professor of the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) and Executive Dean of the USTC Shanghai Institute for Advanced Studies, serves as president.

At the event, the certificates were awarded to the representatives of the members of the Technical Program Committee.

Banyan Tree Hub Unveiling Ceremony

In order that the WYSS program plays the role as a world-class talent platform to support the development of New Quality Productive Forces, the event witnessed the unveiling ceremony of the Banyan Tree Hub, which was located at the community of Ouyue in Qidu District in Lucheng County, with the aim to enhance Wenzhou’s talent service capabilities through building social network and online communities for young scientists.

At the same time, 10 talent support packages, including a 24-hour hotline services and one-on-one specialist assistance services, are provided for previous winners of awards including the China Youth Science and Technology Award, the Young Female Scientist Award, and the Sustainable Development Youth Scientist Award.

In addition, the 2024 Banyan Tree Hub action plan provides funding subsidies to young scientists to apply for academic exchange and social cultural and sports activities to enhance their social networking.

Signing Ceremony for Strategic Cooperation between the WYSS Executive Committee and Springer Nature Group

At the event, the WYSS Executive Committee signed a letter of intent with the Springer Nature, world renowned international academic publishing institution to explore a series of cooperative programs by leveraging the WYSS program, and promote international academic exchanges and technological innovation in Wenzhou and even Zhejiang Province.

For the past 5 years, under the theme of Science and technology oriented  young scientists’ action, the jointly-sponsored WYSS  between the China Association for Science and Technology (CAST) and the Zhejiang Provincial Government has radiated its appeal to over 100 countries, regions, international sci-tech organizations, and more than 200 foreign universities.

More than 30 Nobel laureates and Turing Award winners, and other world-class scientists, 400 plus Chinese and foreign academicians, and more than 5600 representatives of scientists, entrepreneurs, and venture capitalists were invited to participate in the event, which provides the participants with opportunities to gain global visions, discuss cutting-edge scientific and technological  issues, amplify young scientific and technologic professional’s voices, and demonstrate Chinese style in academic activities.

Tag: Zhejiang Association for Science and Technology, Academic Exchanges